Persons of Interest Interview – Darius Powell

Darius Powell

1. Please introduce yourself.
Hello, my name is Darius Powell. I’m a 20 year business professional turned writer and live in Loveland, OH with my wife and children.

2. What do you write? Do you have a specific gene?
I write short stories (7) and novels (2). In the future, I plan to focus more on writing screenplays which was my goal from the start. The genre I like the most is action adventure.

3. What are you working on now?
At this time, I’m finishing up my eighth short story and also working on my first screenplay.

4. When did you start writing?
I started writing stories when I was in elementary school. I was a big fan of the original Saturday Night Live, “Not ready for primetime players”, and started envisioning short skits that I deemed funny. After a while, I had a lot of material and used them for school productions. Needless to say, regardless of where I worked, I was always the “go to guy” for skits.

5. Where do you usually write?
I usually write in my home office.

6. Why did you choose to start writing, who or what influenced you?
I chose to start writing because I had an urge to create art for others to enjoy. Also, I didn’t feel satisfied professionally. All I did was make a good salary. That’s so boring.
I’ve been influenced by novelists Elmore Leonard, Anthony Horowitz and Walter Mosley. Screenwriters who’ve influenced me are Quenten Tarantino, Oliver Stone and Tyler Perry.

7. What advice do you have for other writer’s (optional question: Where do you hope your writing
Even though I’ve yet to be published by a major company, I have sold my work on Amazon.com and Smashwords.com. My advice to other writers is to write what is on your mind and in your heart and don’t worry about outside distractions. In five years, I’d love to have a novel published and multiple screenplays in circulation.

8. What do you do when you are not writing?
When I’m not writing, I’m reading, thinking about my characters or analyzing the dialogue of what I’m watching on TV

9. How do we find out more about you and about your book?
On Smashwords.com, everything I have written, less my screenplays, are posted under Darius Powell.

 

About Stacy Bender

Author of Ursa Kane and the Sav'ine series.
This entry was posted in Person of Interest and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

