Person of Interest Interveiw – Reid Minnich

Please introduce yourself. What do you write and are you working on anything right now?

Hi I’m Reid Minnich. I just finished my first book, Koinobi. It’s a SciFi about a parasitic bug from outer space. I’m working on the sequel. I’m hoping the sequel will take less time than book one, which took a year. Of course, I was unemployed when I started the first one so that helped, but I also wasn’t plugged into a group that could help my writing. Now I’m in a group that is very helpful.

Do you have a specific gene?

I call my work SciFi but most of the people in the writing group insist that it is really horror. I agree the main character can be a bit scary, but the scary part wasn’t what I was trying to focus on. Still, the writing group has been very helpful because it lets me see what people actually get from my writing as opposed to what I think they will see.

Why did you choose to start writing, who or what influenced you? Did you self publish or go with a publisher and why?

Like everyone, we have our day jobs. Writing doesn’t pay many bills. We do it for the fun of telling stories. I’ve tried writing twice before and ended up throwing the work away. It wasn’t until my son had an idea for a book but was too lazy to write it, that I sat down and seriously tried to write a story. Of course, when it was finished, he insisted that was not what he had in mind.

And once it was finished, I had to decide what to do with it. I could save it in a dark corner, delete it, send it to publishers, or self-publish. I don’t know how many people take each route. I’ve done the save and the delete but the self-publish and publisher paths were uncharted territory. I knew enough to get the book on Amazon but I also knew that I am not skilled with promotion, so no one but family would ever know the book was available. I had no illusion of raking in the big bucks, so I was very happy when Wordbranch offered to publish the book.

What advice do you have for other writers?

I think everyone who wants to write should do it because they like it, but they should decide which of the paths they will take when their book is finished.

Where do you hope your writing will take you in five years?

I am not in it for money. I faced a similar choice many years ago when I was playing sax in a band. I loved music and the people I was playing with. I enjoyed entertaining people. But if we asked the clapping audience for money, suddenly the applause turned to crickets chirping. I realized that clapping was cheap and the audience didn’t really appreciate our efforts. I had to decide if I was going to play other people’s music for a small amount of money, play my music for free, or sit at home.

Writing books is better. You tell stories only to people who are willing to pay a few bucks for your work. Both music and book writing are hobbies, at best. There are some great jokes about musicians. What is the difference between a musician and a large pizza? The pizza really can feed a family of four. Does anyone know a writer job?

About Stacy Bender

Author of Ursa Kane and the Sav'ine series.
This entry was posted in Person of Interest and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

