Person of Interest Interview – Krystyn MacGregor

1.     Please introduce yourself.

I am Krystyn MacGregor. I was born in Scotland and spent my teenage years in Shakespeare country with five sisters, one brother, and two alcoholic parents who were absolutely fabulous before the TV show existed. After living and working in many countries and various States, I bought an old house in Hamilton and started my own business. My bank manager is not thrilled, but I love it!

I love living in Hamilton; my family, or most of them; oil painting; writing; gardening; walking; good stories; red wine; Thai food; chocolate; more chocolate; Maria Callas; and Led Zeppelin. I hate the acceptance of suffering (all suffering inflicted on people, animals, and the planet) and parties (especially ones where they expect me to play games).

2.     What do you write? Do you have a specific genre?

In the past, I have written short stories and commentaries—I’m a philosophy addict—but they were not for public consumption. Being from Glasgow, I have an opinion about absolutely everything and anyone so it has always been easy for me to spill my thoughts all over a piece of white paper in delicious privacy and sheer self-indulgence. (Diarrhea of the pen? Disgusting expression, but apt.)

3.     What are you working on now?

I am writing a series of four books of my family history; people’s eyes have glazed over when I have told them of the private islands, helicopters, and murder in my family therefore I am toning it down and simplifying it. It is the story of one woman in particular, my mother, and how she coped with extreme swings of fate, wealth, power, sex, and violence but it shows how three generations of women survived from the 1930s to the 1970s with sheer tenacity and willpower.

4.     When did you start writing?

I started learning to write seriously in January of this year; but I am very slow and it is a difficult craft to
learn.

5.     Where do you usually write?

I write in my head when I am walking or gardening; I walk six miles along the Miami River Trail every morning, and I work in my garden several times a week, weather permitting. I type on a computer in my home office every morning for a couple of hours when I first get up, and try to solidify my thoughts. Sometimes, I take my lab top into my back garden or onto my front porch in the afternoon or evening when I don’t have very much graphic design work to do, but it is not as comfortable as sitting at my office desk and writing.

6.     Why did you choose to start writing, who or what influenced you?

Does good writing go to heaven and bad writing go everywhere? With the Internet explosion, I reasoned that I don’t have to be Shakespeare to express myself in writing. I would like to tell my grandson about his ancestors but I will be dead before he is old enough to hear it in the Scottish oral tradition, so I am writing him a very long story.

7.     Have you published anything?

No.

8.     What do you do when you are not writing?

I paint, walk, garden, play with my grandson, and fix up my old house. Occasionally, I go out gallivanting to see some civilization, but not very often because I have set myself a goal to finish at least one book and twenty paintings this year. I have painted twenty-two paintings so far, however, and only written 20,000 words, so that is a little telling. Trying to start my own graphic design business is time consuming, unfortunately, but I write and paint in the morning and deal with work in the afternoon and evenings so it does not interfere too much in my life.

9.     How do we find out more about you and about your book\writing?

I am still a work in progress, I am afraid, but the story is unfolding by itself now, so, if life does not get in the way, I will be able to share a great deal of my writing by the end of this year.

About Stacy Bender

Author of Ursa Kane and the Sav'ine series.
This entry was posted in Comments, Person of Interest and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

