‘Widgets – Ship Unknown’

When my publisher suggested we try an anthology and asked me to be the editor, I thought – Great it will keep me busy for now.

I even came up with a short story to use in case of emergency and as far as I know will in fact be in the 2013 Word Branch Anthology.

I read ‘Widgets – Ship Unknown’ at my writers group and was asked what I planned on doing with. This was when I realized that I had never written a screenplay and was curious to see if I could do it. This is where Jeri AKA Jerjonji became invaluable. She knew a lot about screenplays and not just the stuff you find in books.

Once I finally had it done the question arose of, now what? I didn’t have any contacts with Hollywood and from what I understand, just because you sell something doesn’t mean it will ever be produced.

I even thought of turning it into a graphic novel but finding an artist is virtually impossible. I realize that the art would be a lot of work but no one is willing to work for royalties. Even students that don’t have a name or job experience are asking high prices per page and when you have a 90+ page screenplay you soon realized that you will never recoup the cost of the art work let alone make a dime.

FYI – Just because you have published books doesn’t mean you make any money at it.

So I’m am back to square one and I’ve decided that I’m going to post the first ten pages and let everyone know that I have a screenplay for sale. If anyone has any suggestions, I’m more than happen to hear them.

Click on the Widgets – Ship Unknown tab for the first ten pages.

or click

https://stacybender.wordpress.com/widgets-ship-unknown-the-first-ten-pages/?preview=true&preview_id=420&preview_nonce=7a5ed9b77c

About Stacy Bender

Author of Ursa Kane and the Sav'ine series.
This entry was posted in Screenplay and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

