PAGE Contest and Screenwriting

11-14-12 012

Not too long ago I wrote a screenplay just to see if I could do it. Luckily I have a friend who, when she found out what I was up to gave me some much needed advise. The kind you can’t find printed in a book.

So having finished the screenplay I thought, ‘Now what do I do with it?’

Answer: Send it into a screenwriting contest and get feedback from people who are in the business. PAGE is one of those contests were you can pay to have feedback about your screenplay and while I didn’t win the contest or even get past the first round, I did score, in my mind pretty high for my first try, a total score of 58.

Below are the score averages.

CONTEST SCORES for the PAGE Awards average as follows:

 Approximately 25% of all entries score below 40

Approximately 50% of all entries score between 40 and 60

Approximately 25% of all entries score 60 or higher

 Scripts that score 60 or higher in the first round of the contest advance to the Second Round of competition.  Beyond that, depending upon the level of competition in each category, scripts with scores averaging in the mid 70s and above will generally advance to the Quarter-Final, Semi-Final and Final Rounds.

About Stacy Bender

Author of Ursa Kane and the Sav'ine series.
This entry was posted in Screenplay and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

